Match Secretaries scoop Club Person of the Year award!


Club Person of the Year – Our annual presentation of this prestigious award is one which this year proved difficult to decide. Normally there are several eligible candidates, of which one is outstanding, and a decision is easy to reach. This season hovever we had two such candidates and separation of them was impossible!

The two, Alison Pigot and Neil Farrell, have worked tirelessly both in their Club role as Fixtures Secretaries and in their other involvements, always networking, providing information on events, rules and the mindset of the LHA, and involvement in Club social and other activities – other than these time consuming activities the time in which they play and/or coach must seem like a rest!

This is only the second time in which the award has been made jointly (indeed Alison was a joint winner previously) and we expect that their normal co-operation will continue in reaching agreement on who holds the cup when over the next year!
Many congratulations to Alison and Neil, deserving winners of the 2011/12 Club Person of the Year award.

Honorary Life Membership – to join the very prestigious group of Honorary Life Members is an honour not easily attained and requires a commitment over and above the norm, and over an extended period. The list of such Members is short and is only added to on occasion, with presentation being made at an AGM.

The Executive Committee conducted a review of potential recipients, as a result of which it was felt three Members should be rewarded for their commitment to Pembroke over a lengthy period.

Their service to Pembroke encompasses positions on the Management Committees (selectors, captains, secretaries), the Executive Committee, Club Officers including Club Captains and Presidents (sometimes both!), representation of the Club at Branch and/or Irish level, and general involvement in regular activities (team management, umpiring, coaching, grounds maintenance, car parking, social, etc) which assist and promote Pembroke in the hockey world.

It is with very great pleasure therefore that at the AGM on Monday 21st May 2012, the Executive Committee awarded Honorary Life Memberships to –
Andrew Kershaw
Deirdre Mackay
Paddy Deering

Congratulations to you all and may continue to enjoy the delights of Pembroke Wanderers for a very long time to come.

Posted by PWHC

Recent News

We’re looking for a Juniors Administrator

Founded in 1922, Pembroke Wanderers Hockey Club is an amateur sports organisation, rooted in the community. As…

Read More

Men’s 1st XI Coaching Announcement 2024/25 Season

Men’s 1st XI Coaching Announcement 2024/25 Season   On behalf of Pembroke Wanderers Hockey Club, I am…

Read More

Join our Family Fun Day!

To celebrate the end of our hockey season, all members, Juniors and Seniors, are invited to our…

Read More